Friars ordained to the Diaconate

  • September 14th 2019

Five Franciscan Friars of the Third Order Regular of Saint Francis, Province of the Most Sacred Heart of Jesus were ordained to the Diaconate on Saturday, September 14, 2019.  The Ordination Ceremony took place on the campus of Franciscan University, Steubenville, Ohio, in the Finnegan Field House.  The Most Rev. Bishop Jeffrey M. Monforton, Bishop of the Diocese of Steubenville, Ohio was the ordaining Bishop.

 Each of the friars being ordained had some connection with Franciscan University, either as an alum or serving on the campus in their apostolic internship.  Brothers Rufino Corona, Stephen Waruszewski and Zachary Burns will complete their studies at the Catholic University of America and serve as Deacons in the local area.  Brother Daniel Maria Klimek will continue teaching at the Franciscan University and serve as a Deacon on campus.  At the recent Provincial Congregation of the Province, Brother Matthew Simons was appointed Treasurer for the Province of the Most Sacred Heart of Jesus and will be assisting in pastoral ministry on the campus of Saint Francis University, Loretto, Pennsylvania.  Ordination to the Priesthood is anticipated in May 2020.


First Row-LR- Rev. Bros. Zachary Burns, TOR, Daniel Marie Klimek,TOR
Stephen Mary Waruszewski,TOR,  Matthew Simons, TOR and Rufino Corona. TOR
Second Row -LR - Very Rev. Joseph Lehman,TOR,  Minister Provincial, Most Rev. Bishop Jeffrey Monforton,
Diocese of Steubenville,  Rev. David Pivonka, TOR, President, Franciscan University of Steubenville.


Picture Gallery